The Obsidian Trilogy by Mercedes Lackey and James Mallory

The Outstreched Shadow

Nice fantasy trilogy in a world of sword and magic. Good readability, although not exactly my kind of fantasy. A little bit too much magic, elves, dragons, etc. but that’s a matter of personal choice. Some might enjoy this fairy-tale-like piece of a three novel set (The Outstretched Shadow, To Light a Candle, When Darkness Falls).



The Dreamers by David Eddings

Such a good author and such a disappointing series. The Dreamers (The Elder Gods, The Treasured One, Crystal Gorge, The Younger Gods) is a fantasy series by a very good author, David Eddings. Unfortunately, for every good thing I have to say about this author, there are as many bad things I can say about this particular series. (more…)

The Sword of Truth by Terry Goodkind

Wizard's First Rule by Terry Goodkind

By far my favorite series so far! Terry Goodkind has outdone himself time and again when publishing sequel after sequel of this 11-book epic fantasy saga. The first book of The Sword of Truth,  entitled Wizard’s First Rule, is one of, if not the best fantasy book I have read so far. It is a little surprising, because it has some rather prevalent romance overtones, and I never been a romantic type (Ok, maybe a little bit in high-school, but now I’m a bitter old man.. 24 year old to be exact).


The Wheel of Time Series by Robert Jordan

The Eye of the World

My first recommendation for fantasy book readers would probably have to be the saga of The Wheel of Time. WoT, as most of the fans refer to the series, is an unfinished set of 11 books set in an imaginary world. The plot revolves around the usual struggle between the Good and Evil. The champion of the world, the Dragon Reborn, is fighting the forces of the Dark One


Published in: on April 2, 2008 at 1:56 am  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , , ,