Chronicles of the Necromancer by Gail Z. Martin

The Summoner - Book one of The Necromancer by Gail Z. Martin

Now that’s refreshing! A rather long fantasy story told in only two books! The author could have written at least another three but she decided to cut to the chase and actually tell the story right away. Kudos for that Gail!

The series, if we might call a two-book-set that, start with The Summoner and end right after with The Blood King. Prince Martis Drayke, the protagonist of the story, has to flee his home after a violent coup d’état staged by his brother to gain the crown of their homeland, Margolan. Together with his friends he decides to overthrow his evil brother for the good of the country.

The plot is kind of standard and is kept rather short. I liked the new outlook on magic, especially necromancy which portrayed as something not necessarily evil and a Summoner (a.K.a. Necromancer) is somebody who actually helps people… and spirits.

All in all, nice two thick books. Not overly creative but a good read nonetheless, goes quickly but you also forget it rather fast, too – which doesn’t have to be a bad thing if you are simply looking for something to read, as opposed to something to analyze ;). I think I read them about a month or two ago and I couldn’t even remember any names without looking them up in the book.

My ranking for the trilogy: 7/10 (Easy read, not too elaborate, good for daily commute to and from work.. I would even risk placing a “Slight Dark Fantasy” tag on this one)

UPDATE: Gail Z. Martin agreed to give an interview here at Fantasy Book Reviews Blog. I’m collecting questions for her, so if anybody wants to contribute, please submit your question as a comment here!



The URI to TrackBack this entry is:

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hi, I have tagged you for a meme about your favourite authors. Link to my post if you want to know what to do and what the rules are. If you do then post a comment back on mine. If you don’t want to then no problem.

  2. Thank you! A new duology set in the Winter Kingdoms begins in February 2009 with Dark Haven.

    Here’s the summary: In Dark Haven, the effects of Jared the Usurper’s reign of terror go further than anyone imagined, striking at the stability of the Winter Kingdoms. Undead forces align against Lord Jonmarc Vahanian of Dark Haven in a struggle for power between mortals and the vayash moru. Magic has become a dangerous and unpredictable force. As King Martris Drayke prepares for his wedding, he must also prepare for war against rebels still loyal to Jared. Isencroft is on the brink of civil war over the looming reality of a joint kingdom. Only one thing is certain—the Winter Kingdoms will be changed forever, and innocence is the first casualty.

    I’ll have a sneak peek online June 21 with excerpts, interviews, audio, video and giveaways, so please visit

    Gail Z. Martin

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: